2014 Student Essay Contest

Security vs. Liberty
Let your Voice Be Heard


Now in its 14th year, the Memorial’s Essay Contest allows students the opportunity to share their views on important topics while engaging them in the lessons of the Memorial. The 2014 Student Essay Contest uses a political cartoon and text passages to highlight the responsibility of the government to keep us secure in the context of our personal freedoms.

Students in grades 5-12 may participate and are eligible to win cash prizes. Winning essays will be available online at OklahomaCityNationalMemorial.org.

Over 2,100 students participated in the Memorial’s 2013 Student Essay Contest. From those essays, teachers submitted their top selections resulting in 951 entries. Winning essays came from students in Tennessee and Oklahoma.




We are grateful to Allegiance Credit Union for sponsoring this contest, and proud of our continued partnership. The Federal Employees Credit Union, which changed its name to Allegiance Credit Union in 2003, was located on the third floor of the Murrah Building and lost 18 of its 33 employees in the bombing. Six of the surviving employees were seriously injured. With the assistance of other credit unions and volunteers, they were able to reopen within 48 hours at a temporary site furnished by Tinker Federal Credit Union. “The legacy of FECU, the restoration and continued growth as Allegiance Credit Union makes members and employees alike proud to be credit union people,” said Lynette Leonard, Allegiance Credit Union President/CEO.



620 N. Harvey, Oklahoma City  |  405.235.3313 888.542.HOPE
©2011 Oklahoma City National Memorial